Exciting news and massive new project

So, First thing I want to say is sorry for the massive blackout in posts recently, I have been so busy away from my sewing machine! The big news is that I just got engaged! I’m so excited and just like any creative person would be, I am elbow deep in wedding planning already. For an avid amateur dressmaker the prospect of a wedding means something massive. It means the chance to design and make my wedding dress (I know some people say it’s bad luck but I would hate having to wear a shop bought dress on one of the biggest days of my life).

After browsing some bridal catalogues and getting an idea of what kind of dress I might like I decided that strapless and tea-length were my two key wants in the dress. I also wanted silk because it is going to be a summer wedding and I don’t want to be sweating away in a synthetic fabric dress!

Normally I stick to Vogue patterns because I prefer their fit but I just couldn’t find anything girly enough in their formal range (it was all a bit to sleek) so I am going to start with SImplicity 3878 in view D (the one in the photo).Image

The colour scheme for our wedding is yellow and purple (blueberries and custard as my mum would say!) so I am wanting to have white dress with a yellow lace overlay but I’m still looking for a good balance between quality and price in terms of lace!

If any readers have ever made a wedding dress I would love to hear their experiences in takling the nicest dress a girl ever gets to wear!

 

4 thoughts on “Exciting news and massive new project

  1. Congratulations. I’ve never made a wedding dress but I’m guessing the best hint would be to make a toile to test your pattern and work out how to get a perfect fit. You might also borrow a book on couture techniques to study how to join your lace at the seams.

  2. I did make my own wedding dress, but it was long ago – 1988 – and as I was young at sewing, I did a simple dress with beautiful fabric – it was as fantastic as my wedding day! Congratulations to you both!

Leave a Reply

