Geoffrey Beene jumpsuit and shirt

Now we are in the last week of August, I am packing away the poplin and the summer dress patterns and looking for something to set the tone for my autumn wardrobe. I really like clothes with plain straight lines in lovely fabrics as the weather starts to turn colder and you have to start planning what jacket to wear with everything.

I found this fantastic pattern from Geoffrey Beene for sale on Etsy (I think it is out of print now)

Image

I love the low back combined with the smart straight trousers on the jumpsuit and I know that the square cut shirt is sure to become a wardrobe staple of mine as I am always looking for a baggy top to throw over jeans.

I chose a suiting fabric which I got for £2.99/m online which I expected to end up looking quite flimsy but it has really beautiful drape which will be great for the pleats in the jumpsuit.

Image

I don’t know how well it has come out in the picture but it is actually a very fine beige and black tweed that gives an overall grey look.

So far I have just been cutting out the pieces. The jumpsuit is just two main pieces (I don’t think I have ever had to cut out such large pattern pieces).

Image

I can’t wait to see how it makes up! I’ll keep you posted on progress…

One thought on “Geoffrey Beene jumpsuit and shirt

Leave a Reply

