All Tied-Up Stashbusting Dress

The crochet dress is coming along nicely but I can never stray too far from my sewing machine so I have been designing a nice simple dress. I love the idea of backless dresses but often feel a bit exposed whilst wearing them. I wanted to make a dress that was almost backless to show off a bit of skin between a row of straps down the back. To make these adjustable I decided to make them fabric ties.

Like most sewing aficionados I have a rather large stash of left over and excess fabric (I always always err heavily on the side of caution when buying fabric particularly if it has a nap). I decided to make this dress completely out of things from my stash. The star (no pun intended) attraction of this dress will be the back skirt which I am making out of a leftover piece of vintage star wars fabric that I bought of Etsy months ago and have only used snippets from!

This is the back of the skirt:

P1000490

For the front of the dress I matched some Captain America-esque starry fabric and some red cotton fabric:

P1000492

This is just the cutting process, it has been in my stash box too long and is in good need of an iron! For the back bodice I extended it into long strips to form the ties:

P1000495

I wanted to go for a patchwork mish-mash look and use up fabric I had lying around. With the tie at the back of the bodice I am just going to add some elastic at the back of the waist instead of a zip opening. Now to start sewing…….

4 thoughts on “All Tied-Up Stashbusting Dress

  1. Ahhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!! I felt a little woozy after seeing your post and had to sit down. How FABULOUS is this skirt going to be?? I must see it when it is completed. Ping me at my blog in case I happen to miss when you post.

  2. Pingback: All Tied Up Dress – Completion | SiNguLariTyWarE

Leave a Reply

