Crochet Dress – Genesis

Since the weather has been lovely here and I have been wanting to sit outside I decided to take a break from the old sewing machine and pick up my hook and start crocheting again! Previously my crocheting efforts have only extended to Granny squares and doilies (the latter when I was going through a 1950s vintage loving stage). This time I wanted to make a dress!

I started browsing the free patterns on Ravelry but didn’t come up with anything too inspiring so I decided to look on Etsy. I found this great shop called “Wonky Zebra” it has loads of lovely Vintage patterns for PDF download and the owner is super helpful with any questions you have!

I chose this pattern:

greendress

I love the mini-mini-skirts of the 60s and I wanted a crochet pattern that would be a bit of a challenge without being impossible. It helps that this is also multi-sized so I won’t need to do too much alteration!

I decided to move away from the 1960s vibe with my choice of yarn (cotton rather than nylon!) and got 10 balls of Freedom Sincere DK from The Wooly Brew in Pittenweem. Here is a picture of the yarn, I am almost finished the bottom edging now!

P1000477

I sense this will be the beginning of a long crocheting journey……………

3 thoughts on “Crochet Dress – Genesis

  1. Too cool! LOVE that dress! Though I am too chunky in the middle to wear it. Thanks for the tip on Wonky Zebra. love that name too. Do you have a shop?

    • Hi thanks for the lovely comments, I am currently deciding whether to line the dress in a contrast colour or be brave enough to show off my belly! I have a shop where I sell some of my handmade clothes it is etsy.com/shop/SRHJNE

  2. Pingback: All Tied-Up Stashbusting Dress | SiNguLariTyWarE

Leave a Reply

