Adventures into upcycling – GoodGirlBadGirl Shorts

Last week I posted about my 241 skirt, inspired by the concept of two people inhabiting the same body and the conflicts inside. This got by head spinning with ideas of juxtaposition of styles in one garment. I love the idea of merging casual (verging on scruffy) and formal eveningwear fabrics.  This led me to rush down to the nearest charity shop to pick up a pair of second hand jeans….

I cropped them into short-shorts by just cutting the legs off and fraying the edges and doing a slight zig-zig stitch round just to stabilise  the raw edge.

P1000420 P1000422

Ripped jeans….. this is the “Bad Girl” part of the shorts.

 

The “good girl” part comes from a piece of orange/pink shimmery organza. I wanted to have a floor length overlay on the shorts that would contrast with the ripped denim but also be a cute summery cover-up!

I bound the edges of the organza by rolling and zig-zagging the hem:

P1000426

I attached the overlay to the shorts using short handstitches. I had to take care since the denim had a slight stretch to it not to make them too tight but they stand up to most wear I think!

Here are some photos of the finished shorts! They were great fun to make and are a summer staple in my opinion!

P1000430  P1000435 P1000445P1000429

 

I am going to try to make these in different sizes to sell on my Etsy shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/SRHJNE

I just love the summery feel of this design!

 

One thought on “Adventures into upcycling – GoodGirlBadGirl Shorts

Leave a Reply

