241 skirt – continued

It had been a tough decision for Martia to make: let Venetia die or condemn both of them to a life on the run. The first days after the procedure had been a haze as the two consciousnesses had begun claiming parts of the brain. Every time Venetia advanced through the neo-cortex Martia was pushed backwards. Her body felt drunk.

***********************************************************************

This past week I have been taken away from my sewing/designing as I had a workshop to attend in my other life as a Solar Physicist. This means I have not been able to complete this skirt so far but here is a nice little progress report to let you know how things are going!

The skirt is made up of two pieces: the underskirt that goes all the way round and is short (I chose a red pure cotton fabric for this) and the overksirt that is only half a skirt and is long (I chose a navy blue pure cotton fabric).

So far I have only made the red underskirt:

P1000406 P1000408

I fitted a red zipper into the side seam and top-stitched round the waist.

It was such a lovely day up in Scotland today I couldn’t help but sit out in the garden to hand stitch the hem….. If only there was a way of using the sewing machine outside as well!

sewing on a sunny afternoon

3 thoughts on “241 skirt – continued

  1. Pingback: 241 skirt – completion | SiNguLariTyWarE

  2. Your skirt is looking good! I actually was thinking just that, how to bring the sewing machine outside. And, think I’m going to! There is a plug out in my backyard near the picnic table, so can’t see why I can’t just set up shop there for an afternoon. 🙂

    • Garden sewing sounds fabulous! That is the one drawback to sewing – having to find a power socket. I kind of want to get a pedal machine just for the conservatory and back yard!

Leave a Reply

